Lioness' Literatim

Letter for letter, the thoughts in my head.

YAYOG Day 4 and lazy meals

Sunday, 25 March 2012

Fayetteville, NC

My pepper seeds are sprouting! My pepper seeds are sprouting! And my pansy plant has baby buds! And my chocolate mint plant is still alive! Still can’t see any progress on the herbs, but hopefully something will poke through the soil soon!

YAYOG Day 4 – Legs/Core

Today’s workout felt great, for the most part. The side lunges were a little awkward because the stance is wider than I’m used to, but I hear it gets easier, and the side crunches just felt awkward in general, but I’m going to chalk that up, at least in part, to my general dislike of crunches. Once I master the extra wide stance on the side lunges, I think they’re going to be amazing. Most of the ones I did today were stationary – I stayed in the wide stance instead of returning to the starting position after each rep – because getting into and out of the wide stance made me come very close to falling flat on my face a few times. Will definitely be working on that. The 1L RDLs felt amazing today, but I seemed to be having some issues with balance today. I’m expecting my hamstrings to protest getting out of bed in the morning. The squats – oh lord the squats. Today’s squats came with the instructions to pause for 1-3 seconds at the bottom. So I did. A full 3 seconds on each rep. So much pain, but damn they felt good. As for the side crunches, I think next week I’ll replace them with something else, because they really did just feel awkward. I felt like I should’ve been doing either full fledged oblique crunches or bicycles instead of the hybrid version that the book calls for. No matter though. I’ll change it up a little and it will still be good. Tomorrow starts week 2 of this journey into body weight, and I’m ready for it.

Food:

Today was not the best day, food wise. Breakfast was a chocolate chip muffin. You know, the kind you buy in a 4-pack at the grocery store? Yeah….I forgot I bought them yesterday, but there they were this morning, sitting on the counter just waiting to be devoured. After breakfast I had to go on post to do laundry because my dryer is still out. While I was waiting for it to finish, I walked over to starbucks. Grande white chocolate mocha with an extra shot. On the plus side, after the laundry was done I went to the commissary and everything that I bought is healthy. I have fresh fruit and veggies, a couple of chicken breasts, a salmon fillet, and peanuts to make another batch of boiled peanuts with. I got home and did my workout, then followed it with a banana. A few hours and a couple glasses of juice later, I had a handful of strawberries, then decided it was dinner time and I didn’t feel like cooking. Cue beanie weenies.

25 March 2012 - Posted by | Health + Fitness

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

