Lioness' Literatim

Letter for letter, the thoughts in my head.

YAYOG Day 2

Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Fayetteville, NC

YAYOG Day 2: Legs/Core

I’ve got to be honest here. Today didn’t feel like much of a challenge. I didn’t reach the top of a ladder of any of the four exercises. Lunges and squats I may have been getting close, but I still hit the top of a 12 set ladder before the timer went off. 1L RDLs took a few tries to get used to, but I think I love them. As prescribed by YAYOG, 1 rep consisted of touching each hand to the ground once. However, the YAYOG Basic Program specifies alternating 1L RDLs, which I did not do. I did 7.5 minutes on my left leg, then 7.5 minutes on my right leg, reaching the top of a 10 set ladder on each. On all of the first three exercises, I could have kept going. I wanted to keep going. But I listened to that damn timer and stopped. The swimmers though….how I hate them. I thought I’d never see them outside of PRT. I don’t get the point of them. I feel nothing but annoyance when doing them. I reach set 6 on my ladder and stopped because I was bored. I will definitely be looking for something to substitute here for upcoming weeks where swimmers are included. I’m actually surprised that I was able to do as many of the back lunges as I did. Lunges are normally a bit of a weakness for me, between my terrible balance (how did I not fall flat on my face doing 1L RDLs?) and my bum knee, but although I was starting to sweat a bit, I wasn’t struggling with them. My knees were popping every time I did a squat though, and I’m pretty sure they were going further forward than they’re supposed to. I’ll have to do a form check next time I do them. Actually, on that note, I might try to take some “action” shots of my workouts to include in my journal. But, between this morning’s 4-mile ruck march carrying about 41lbs (I thought it was only 25!) and this evening’s YAYOG experience, I’m curious about how much pain I should expect to be in when I wake up. Hopefully not too much – I’m on a detail tomorrow that I have to be able to move around for.

 

Food:

I started the morning off with a large grapefruit and a cup of coffee – the breakfast of champions. Delicious and nutritious, and only two spoonfuls of sugar between the coffee and the grapefruit. Lunch was leftovers from the Thai restaurant I went to last week. Not the healthiest, but it was delicious and I didn’t want it to go to waste. At least I didn’t eat the whole meal in one sitting though, right? Dinner was…kind of non-existent, and my stomach will remind me of that in the morning. I got home from work and made a smoothie: banana, strawberry and pineapple. Even though I’ve gotten to where I like eating bananas, I apparently still don’t like them in things. I couldn’t even get through a quarter of that smoothie. So then I just ate a few strawberries and bites of pineapple, then remembered I had coconut hiding in the cupboard. Yes, I made a virgin pina colada. With chunks of pineapple and coconut flakes. And milk and coconut extract. And ice. It was delicious. And actually, rather nutritious! Needs some refining, but I think I’ll definitely be making it again. I do have a confession though…I stopped by the store on my way home this afternoon to get fruit, and I also came home with a bag of Whoppers Robin Eggs. Freaking Easter candy, catching a ride home with me. I’ve had a small handful of them, and right about now I’m wishing I was strong enough to throw away the rest of the bag instead of reaching in for another one. And yes, it was stress that drove me to buy them. It’s just been one of those days, and what do you know, I’m just not strong enough yet to resist the urge to eat sweets and junk food when I’m stressed.

21 March 2012 Posted by | Health + Fitness | Leave a comment